Stacking the Shelves

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books we are adding to our shelves, whether they be physical or digital. This includes books bought (my wife would say I buy too many), borrowed (a rare occurrence), and received for review (which I’m trying to reign in).

New Acquisitions: Paperback Treasures

I stopped at my favorite used bookstore mid-week with my ever-growing list of wanted titles, but it seems I picked them clean with my visit two weeks ago. I did, however, grab a pair of books that weren’t on my list but that definitely fit my theme:

The Cage is an out-of-print paperback classic from S. M. Stirling and Shirley Meier that definitely belongs on my female-author and female-fronted-fantasy shelves. Tinker, the first Elfhome book from Wen Spencer, was a fortunate find as she’s been on my radar ever since reacquiring a copy of A Brother’s Price, which somehow got lost in our move a few summers ago.

I finally popped over the border this week as well, stopped in the dankest/dirtiest used bookstore you can imagine (where I bought nothing), and picked up a few Amazon purchases from my P.O. Box. Unfortunately, the book I was really waiting for – Citadel of Servitude, the last Nexus paperback I need for my Chronicles of Tormunil collection by Aran Ashe – has apparently been lost in shipping, so that was a disappointment. On the plus side, Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg was a great pick-up, mostly because I’d forgotten I ordered it, which made it a nice surprise.

New Acquisitions: Digital Purchases

A pair of digital purchases this week. The Spirit Child, Book 1 in The Seven Realms of Ar’rothi, by Alison Naomi Holt was a free Amazon download that fits nicely on my female-author and female-fronted-fantasy shelves, while Tortured by Amazon Redheads is new release by Giles English that promises “Grim Femdom Beyond the Wall.”

Review Titles

I’m trying to be selective in adding review titles, as I have 3 full shelves of paperbacks that I want to read and enjoy, but there are some titles I’ve been waiting for, so when the opportunity arose . . . well, of course I grabbed them. I am not immune to the Siren’s call!

The Throne of the Five Winds (Hostage of Empire Book 1)
by S. C. Emmett
Publication Date: October 15, 2019

Two queens, two concubines, six princes. Innumerable secret agendas.A single hidden blade.

The imperial palace — full of ambitious royals, sly gossip, and unforeseen perils — is perhaps the most dangerous place in the Empire of Zhaon. Komor Yala, lady-in-waiting to the princess of the vanquished kingdom of Khir, has only her wits and her hidden blade to protect herself and her charge, who was sacrificed in marriage to the enemy as a hostage for her conquered people’s good behavior, to secure a tenuous peace.

But the Emperor is aging, and the Khir princess and her lady-in-waiting soon find themselves pawns in the six princes’ deadly schemes for the throne — and a single spark could ignite fresh rebellion in Khir.
Then, the Emperor falls ill — and a far bloodier game begins…

The Throne of the Five Winds is the first installment of the Hostage of Empire series, an intricate and ruthless East Asia-inspired epic fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Ken Liu, Kate Elliott, and K. Arsenault Rivera.

Apocalypse How? (Dakota Adams Book 1)
by Galen Surlak-Ramsey
Publication Date: September 24, 2019

I never thought I’d have a bounty on my head the size of the Milky Way.

Of course, I never thought I’d be able to bend time, either.

But hey, life is full of surprises.

Don’t get me wrong, feeling like a goddess has its perks, but those perks come with a hefty price. My brain is tapioca. I’m stranded in the middle of dead space. Ratters are using me for target practice, and a giant, cybernetic monster named Oscar is trying to make me his chew toy.

All this because I played superhero (or thief, according to some) and snatched a doomsday device from an intergalactic mobster.

So if I don’t make it out of here alive, remember this:

Above all else, I want a Viking funeral.

If you love Firefly, can’t get enough of Doctor Who, or think the idea of a female Indiana Jones scouring the galaxy for precious artifacts with a gigantic tiger at her side sounds like it could be a lot of fun, then this is the book for you.

Grab your copy today!

(Publisher is not responsible for any lack of sleep due to the witty humor, lovable and memorable characters, and constant twists and turns that are contained within.)

Lady Hotspur
by Tessa Gratton
Publication Date: January 7, 2020

Tessa Gratton’s Lady Hotspur is a sweeping, heart-stopping Shakespearean novel of betrayal and battlefields and destiny.

STRIKE FAST, LOVE HARD, LIVE FOREVER

This is the motto of the Lady Knights–sworn to fealty under a struggling kingdom, promised to defend the prospective heir, Banna Mora.

But when a fearsome rebellion overthrows the throne, Mora is faced with an agonizing choice: give up everything she’s been raised to love, and allow a king-killer to be rewarded–or retake the throne, and take up arms against the newest heir, Hal Bolingbrooke, Mora’s own childhood best friend and sworn head of the Lady Knights.

Hal loathes being a Prince; she’s much more comfortable instated on the Throne of Misrule, a racous underground nether-court where passion rules all. She yearns to live up to the wishes of everyone she loves best–but that means sacrificing her own heart, and so she will disappoint everyone until the moment she can rise to prove those expectations wrong.

And between these two fierce Princes is the woman who will decide all their fates–Lady Isarna Hotspur, the fiery and bold knight whose support will turn the tides of the coming war.

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: